Home Forums General Discussion EA Strategy Generation to go Long ONLY

Trusted Trading Brokers banner
Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      User AvatarGordonpip
      Participant

Hi Everyone. I am a new student. Please forgive me if the answer to this question is very simple.

My question is “can a strategy be generated to only go in one direction say Buy (Long) only OR Sell (short ) only?”

To go with the major Trend Only. From what I can see at the moment the EA Builder generates for Long but Mirrors for Selling. The two directions come together and are not independent of each other. Is this correct and if so how can it be overcome. I wish to explore a pair of strategies that could work as a pair independently for a buy and sell but having different conditional parameters not a mirror of each other. The learning curve is steep for me as a novice to EA’s but I would welcome any help and advice I can get. Or if you are interested in my question gust let me know and we can bounce it around a little.

If so how is this done in the EA Studio and FSB software.?

Or can this be done within MT4 when loading the Expert Advisers ?

My experience of the software is very limited at this time and hence I have not been able to implement this Parameter into a strategy I am exploring. Many thanks for your time. Gordon

User AvatarAndi

Hi Gordon,

Yes, you can choose a direction when you generate strategies.

before you start the EA Strategy generation, go to the generator settings, and click on Preset Indicators:

ea-studio-generation

From there you can choose what indicators the generator to use always in your strategies. Click on Add a new entry rule:

Choose the direction

After that select the indicator Long or Short:

long or short

Choose the direction.

Keep me updated on the results. I always wanted to test this but never had the time for it…

I would still use SL, because you will be in the wrong direction when the trend changes, and it will at one moment.